Professional Engineers' Continuing Education (PDH) Requirements:
Although the State board holds the ultimate authority over what is acceptable, there is no pre-approval process for continuing education activities in Pennsylvania; however, attendance verification records, in the form of completion certificates or other documents supporting evidence of attendance, are required to be kept by attendees for five (5) years. As of 10/2012, 24 hours of continuing education are required for each two year licensing cycle. Continuing professional competency obtained by a licensee should maintain, improve or expand skills and knowledge obtained prior to initial licensure or develop new and relevant skills and knowledge. For additional information about Pennsylvania continuing education requirements, please visit the PA State Registration Board for Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, and Geologists website.
State Registration Board for Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors and Geologists
P.O. Box 2649
Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649
Phone: (717) 783-7049
Fax: (717) 705-5540
New Jersey Requirements:
New Jersey law gives the State Board authority to pre-approve PDH activities; however the State Board has suspended its course pre-approval procedure. This suspension does not absolve the professional engineer from the necessity of obtaining the required number of PDH’s. As of 10/2012, 24 hours of continuing education are required for each two year licensing cycle, of which 2 hours must focus on professional practice ethics. For additional information about New Jersey PDH requirements, please visit the NJ Board of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors website.
Division of Consumer Affairs
State Board of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors
P.O. Box 45015
Newark, New Jersey 07101
Delaware law gives the Delaware Association of Professional Engineers (DAPE) authority over licensing in Delaware. Currently, continuing education and PDH activity reporting are voluntary as part of the biennial renewal. For additional information about Delaware licensing requirements, please visit the DAPE website.
Delaware Association of Professional Engineers
92 Read's Way, Suite 208
New Castle, DE 19720
West Virginia Requirements:
The West Virginia State Board does not pre-approval continuing education activities. As of 10/2012, 15 hours of continuing education are required each year. Must be relevant to the profession of engineering and may include technical, ethical, or managerial content. For additional information about West Virginia PDH requirements, please visit the West Virginia State Board of Registration for Professional Engineers.
West Virginia State Board of Registration for Professional Engineers
300 Capitol Street - Suite 910, Charleston, West Virginia 25301
National Society of Professional Engineers:
Refer to the NSPE website for more information: www.NSPE.org
Note that is information is provided as a courtesy by MASITE and as such, MASITE is not warrant the accuracy of this information nor is MASITE responsible for any errors or omissions.